The Judges

The Judges

We have brought together an incredible group of talented people to serve the inaugural Excellence in Graphic Literature Awards.   They come from the far corners of the continental U.S. and represent a wide range of voices and professions: School Librarians, K-12 Educators, Public Librarians, Academics, Independent Retail, and Industry Professionals.  

Many of these jurors have played critical roles in the development of the graphic novel category while for others this may be their first time on a jury panel.   The ideal for this is that we grow the field of experts that in turn, continues to grow the graphic novel world.

Each jury is comprised of seven members and is led by a chair person and assistant chair.  


AdultChildrenMiddle GradeYA

Alicia Holston – Chair

Christina Hicks – Assistant Chair

David Serchay

John Weaver

Kerry Halls

Lacey Torge

Michael Gianfrancesco

Amanda J. Foust – Assistant Chair

Betsy Bird – Chair

Brenda Gutierrez

Jesse Post

Meg Lemke

Susannah Richards

Terry Thompson

Beth Duncan – Assistant Chair

Dr. Katie Monnin – Chair

Dr. Stergios Botzakis

Geo Ong

Karen Gavigan

Ronell Whitaker

Tara Bannon Williamson

Adan Alvarado

Cait Zaksheske – Assistant Chair

Claudia McGivney

Eric Kallenborn

Michael Link

Mike Pawuk – Chair

Nicholas Nichols